Welcome to Gaia! ::

Guild of Vegans and Vegetarians

Back to Guilds

Join vegetarians and supporters for discussion on health, cooking, and ethical issues! 

Tags: Food, Vegan, Vegetarian, Animal, Cooking 

Reply Guild of Vegans and Vegetarians
Vegetarian Health Facts! Please read! Goto Page: 1 2 3 ... 4 5 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Do you think that eating vegetarian makes you unhealthy?
  Yes!
  Yes, until I read this topic.
  No!
  I don't know.
View Results

Caticus

8,125 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Megathread 100
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:46 pm
I'm brand new to the guild and I have been cruising through some of the topics. I must say that I am appalled at the amount of you who believe that a vegetarian diet isn't healthy and is lacking in essential nutrients.

I've been a vegetarian for 4 years and I couldn't be healthier! Below I will paste relevant info from reliable vegetarian sources on the health benefits of going meat-free!

Remember that the key is eating a varied vegetable and fruit rich diet. Plants can give you everything you need! (except B12 which the body hoardes and only hardcore vegans need to suppliment this because it is found in dairy and eggs.)

From GoVeg.com
Quote:
Leading health experts agree that going vegetarian is the single best that thing we can do for ourselves and our families. A meat-free diet rich in complex carbohydrates, protein, fiber, omega-3 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals provides optimal nutrition for both children and adults, forming the foundation for dietary habits that support a lifetime of good health. ...

Vegetarian foods provide us with all the nutrients that we need, minus the saturated fat, cholesterol, and contaminants found in meat and dairy products. ...