Welcome to Gaia! ::

Guild of Vegans and Vegetarians

Back to Guilds

Join vegetarians and supporters for discussion on health, cooking, and ethical issues! 

Tags: Food, Vegan, Vegetarian, Animal, Cooking 

Reply Guild of Vegans and Vegetarians
New to the guild! Mid Transition into Veganism

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

PhilliBilliful

Mega Entrepreneur

16,500 Points
  • Signature Look 250
  • Citizen 200
  • Person of Interest 200
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:37 pm
Hello lovelies!

I while I have been on this site for what feels like forever, I am new to this guild! I am transitioning to Veganism currently. I know I have had some people ask me why I haven't just gone straight to it. We all have our methods, but really, I don't like eating meat, and I am already lactose intolerant. But I work a job where I have to keep my calorie intake pretty high at this point. I work outside in harsh conditions and is a job that can easily take my life if I am not careful, and for me to just go vegan instantly can shock my body in a dangerous way. So I have chosen to phase it out, and I think I have done well so far. I only eat meat once or twice a week now. I am now mostly just eating through what animal products I have in my fridge, and when they are gone, I will replace it with a vegan alternative. I cannot afford to just throw out food, not everyone is made of money like that.

But the reason why I decided to do this, to become vegan, is that I am so sick and tired of being a hypocrite, so sick and tired of being sick and tired. Ever since I began transitioning, I have felt lighter, more free, and a stronger clarity of mind. It's just so amazing how such a change, can change everything.