Submit

Eleiza0250

Shy Genius

12,950 Points
  • PAAANNNTTTSSS 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Bookworm 100
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:08 am
So, before my period, I always get insanely tired and no matter how much sleep I get I always doze off in class and/or work and it's frustrating. Today, however, has taken the cake. I drank two cups of coffee and took zyrtec with pseudoephedrine, was feeling pretty good and awake for about three hours, drank a five hour energy drink when the effects started wearing off and could feel myself in danger of falling asleep, except the energy drink's effect only lasted maybe 45 minutes, then started taking about 6 phenylephrine within an hour and a half, and still managed to doze off an hour later. I'm running out of ways to stay awake at work...bleh. I work at night and I realize none of this is healthy but I reallly need to stay awake and it's so frustrating.  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:40 am
I am not a doctor, but it sounds to me like you may have a legitimate pre-menstrual disorder. That is a lot of fatigue for a young person.

Can you talk to your doctor? Maybe a hormone supplement would help. Make sure they know about any other medications/supplements you are taking to cut down on the possibility of side effects.

Take care. smile  

the mage-girl

Magical Marshmallow

22,600 Points
  • Magical Girl 50
  • Cat Fancier 100
  • Monster Hunter 100

Eleiza0250

Shy Genius

12,950 Points
  • PAAANNNTTTSSS 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Bookworm 100
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:15 pm
Not that it's ever come up in an ordinary conversation, really, but it's so awkward because I don't get cramps, I don't really have physical pain from it, I just..."fall asleep" and it sounds silly to try to explain to other people why that's actually a problem.  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:51 pm
Eleiza0250