Reply Painting and Modelling Discussion
Painting/ Hit a wall Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ice Queen Westley

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:43 am
Hello everyone. I have been painting for about two years, advancing the whole time. I want to be a blue table painter. I know at the moment i don't have anywhere NEAR the skill to be a high level painter. But its a goal and i am sticking to it for now. I am hitting a point where i have no one to instruct me and i would just like personal opinions and advice. I want to know how to highlight and such. Techniques to make my miniatures more life like. If any of you would like to get into a discussion on the subject. We may skype and such and i can show my miniatures and where i am stuck and we can work past it together.

This is a prime example of what I'm talking about.

User Image

whenever i highlight it comes out like this.

User Image

Notice on the cape where i ATTEMPTED highlighting. I am very bad at it....

also just for reference i just got my first quick shade inks. Kind of just coating my miniatures in it. Other than that i dont know how to use it either.  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:01 am
You may want to invest in the painting guide done by Citadel to get a grip on the basics first such as block painting and washing.

Also, if I may be so blunt, before painting a model, make sure that you properly clean off all the excess vents first and do so with a sharp blade and with care. The wings on the helmet are sadly not doing the model a lot of good like that.

It might also be an idea to study colour charts a bit more to find colour combinations that work. The blue, green and purple do not go together well.  

Lady Blodwynn

Sexy Businesswoman

7,900 Points
  • Unleash the Beast 100
  • Guildmember 100
  • Brandisher 100

Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:56 am