Submit

DarkReaper40k

Dangerous Shapeshifter

7,700 Points
  • Ultimate Player 200
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Treasure Hunter 100
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:36 pm
What feels like ages ago I had set out to tear a part my original 3rd edition Space Wolves army and completely rebuild them by including pieces from the newest line of sprues to give them new life and attitude.

I started off by dumping every miniature in a cleaning solution called 'Simple Green' for a week because it is excellent at chewing away at the paint and leaving even the plastic miniatures underneath unharmed. Now granted for some models which had more than one coat of paint on them (ahem... I was a newbie once... lol) I had to scrub off what paint I could with a hard denture brush before putting them back in the simple green bath for another week to remove the rest.

Once done, it was a matter of carefully cutting the limbs off and in some cases power packs and heads before giving them some new equipment while giving the older pieces to some newer age bodies to give the over all army a bit of new and old school image.

My old 3rd editions rhinos to say the least had seen far better days and since I really wanted to go more armour based for this army, I started asking friends and family to buy me tanks for birthday and christmas gifts which worked out quite nicely despite taking awhile to accumulate all that I required. Either way, I went about building them one after another and go the idea to add bullet holes and gashes in the hauls to look like they were really in the heat of battle. I tried not to go too over board though as you don't want your tanks to look like they're on the verge of being a scrap pile! (Unless your an Ork player... you might then!)