Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
♥Farouche's sketchbook [update 3/8]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Mlle Farouche

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:31 pm
[SCROLL DOWN TO MY LATEST POST FOR LATEST ART STUFF. ;D]
Hello!
I'm very new to this guild, and would greatly appreciate some critique on my work.

I'll begin with something I did fairly recently, a self-portrait.
A couple of them, actually; the first turned out really horrible, in my opinion, so I made another one a couple of days later which I am fairly pleased with.
Both were drawn from life (I used the bathroom mirror).
Here's the new one
And here's the older one

I am for the most part just interested in critique on the new one, since I've already noticed many of the errors in the old one, and I don't care about it anymore. It's just there to show...improvement?

Thanks!
♥Farouche

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 7:06 pm
The handling of the hair texture is amazing. If my clothed figure teacher saw this, she'd fail me right now. Haha.

There are places where you see you're cartooning though. The mouth and eyes in particular. The mouth drops true form for symbols of "mouth" and you drew the pupils where you thought they should be. You make yourself cockeyed. The pupils both focus on the same point, so from dead front, they point toward each other juuuuuuuust a little bit. If it's too much (noticeable) then you'd be crosseyed.

The bridge of the nose is lost behind the glasses. It doesn't carry up to meet the brow.