Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Mydnyte Dystopia

6,450 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • First step to fame 200
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:13 pm
I don't listen to "enough" of a variety of bands, or I don't listen to the "right" ones. I guess I'm kinda new to the scene, (only really understood what the goth subculture really is about for perhaps 8 months or so) and I seem to have jumped straight into Industrial. Lately I've been going backwards and checking out the orginals, like Sisters of Mercy, The Cure, etc. but I feel somewhat intimidated by the musical repertoire of many. How does one discover such a variety of bands, and is it a constant "build"? (also, how does one listen to enough songs by each to truly be able to say that they "like" their music?)  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:19 pm
Same thing here.
So I dont know how to answer that.
Wait awhile.
People will come.
:')

bittersweet world girl

MortSanglant

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:02 pm
This is a weird question, not gonna lie.

All I can say is that I'm am constantly building and increasing my musical repertoire. It's a living entity unto myself. I was actually just thinking today about how much my musical tastes have broadened over the years. I used to try to pigeon-hole myself and be like "I only listen to this genre" - kind of as a musical trademark. But that's so limiting. Very musically immature.

I listen to a wide range of things.
Tips for building your library:

1. Pandora.com [always a good one]

2. Allmusic.com [type in an artist you like and then check out the "sounds like" list toward the bottom of their page

3. Always take a friend up on their musical suggestions [if it's a band you haven't heard, of course]

4. Don't discount an artist because they may be "overrated" or "popular" or because they are part of a genre you claim to hate. i.e. for the most part I really hate what I affectionately term "black people music" but I really love Beyoncé.