Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
Wicca traditions? Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Bastemhet

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:56 pm
I admit I don't know much about Wicca at all, except that to be Wiccan you have to be accepted into a lineaged coven. However on another board someone disagreed and said they are part of a coven that is not lineaged, and that that is not a requirement to be an actual coven. Is this true?  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:59 pm
No. That's like asking someone if you have to have a degree to be a doctor and they say "Well of course not! I'm a doctor, I treat people, and I don't have medical training!"

The medical training and proper medical practice would be analogous to the coven - proper training in Wicca and proper practice in Wicca happens in a coven setting.  

Collowrath

Bastemhet

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:04 pm
Collowrath
No. That's like asking someone if you have to have a degree to be a doctor and they say "Well of course not! I'm a doctor, I treat people, and I don't have medical training!"

The medical training and proper medical practice would be analogous to the coven - proper training in Wicca and proper practice in Wicca happens in a coven setting.

That's what I figured, but I wanted to make sure with people who are more familiar with how Wicca works than I am. Thanks for the response. Can anyone else put in their two cents? How might I explain this to the person without my stomping on whatever they believe they're doing, whether it's fanciful or not? Are there any accords or whatever that were agreed upon during the founding of Wicca that makes it necessary for the covens to be lineaged?