Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
Seichi's sketchbook

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Do you like my art?
Yes
80%
 80%  [ 4 ]
No
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
You need to improve (please comment)
20%
 20%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 5

seichinoyami

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:51 pm

I'm a 1st year college student and love drawing in anime/manga style. I want to improve my art skills so that I can do more with it in the future and help out my buddies in their projects. I'm also chasing after some of my favorite artists, too redface

Skill set: 9+ years of experience, but I haven't even improved much crying

Education level: 1st year in college (just graduated HS!)

What I want to learn: Color theory, understanding light source, perspective, how to draw animals/inanimate objects/backgrounds, anatomy, shading

If my art doesn't make your eyes bleed, my older sketches can be seen here.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:19 pm

This is the sketch that sent me on a trip to Art Block Land TAT

I've been trying very hard to reference Iris-Zeible's picture, but I can never get the back of the foot right. I tried drawing the other leg correctly, too, but I can only get the right foot the way I want it crying Could someone please help me? It would be helpful to draw red guidelines or something if it isn't too much trouble. =(

User Image

As you can tell, it's similar to CLAMP's style (I've been a fan of them since childhood!)

seichinoyami

Penlink

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:50 am

Okay, I gotta say that I like how you did your character design of this girl from your sketchbook.