Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
[ munoki's artpad ♥ crits appreciated! ]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

munoki

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:43 pm

♥ about munoki
Hello (: I've been drawing on and off for about 4-5 years (it certainly doesn't show, lol).
I have had no "proper" art education/training whatsoever... whatever I know, I picked up mainly by observing others.
I hope to be able to reach a certain anime/realism balance someday (somewhat like ippus@DA or ionen@DA),
but right now I'm drawing in an anime style.

My understanding of anatomy & shading is especially weak.
Red lining over my current art pieces would be exceptionally useful.
Any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you! (:

♥ latest
(updated 05/05)
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 9:34 am

Well, I can say that once you start to learn the skills it takes to communicate things effectively, you're going to make some great looking art.

I'm not going to get into anatomy in this round. ((edit: Honestly, the anatomy isn't that bad at all. It's uneducated. That's all. As you learn by observing people, reading books on anatomy, and doing figure drawings, you'll improve there.)) I'm sure someone else will come along and do that. If not, then I will in a later post. What I want to focus on is the fact that this looks like a disjointed set of features.

Next time you do a figure, think of a story for it. The story doesn't have to be more than a sentence. For this kind of image, I'd say go with "The girl is saying hi" or "the girl is happy to see you".