Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Mentor Threads [Dedicated Mentoring here!]
❁ Kalevel's mentor thread ❁ no slots

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

The One and Only Kal

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:08 pm
User Image

intro
Hello, folks. Welcome to my mentor thread. I've had the fortune to go to an art-oriented highschool in my area, which I've attended for the past three years (I graduate in May). I have -

¤ One year of Digital Arts
¤ Three years of Drawing
¤ Three years of Costume Design (focus on 2D media)
¤ Two years of Life Drawing
¤ A year and a half of Life-Drawing outside of school (over sixty hours)

other info
Over the summer I went to Columbus College of Art and Design's College Preview program, where I majored in animation and won an award for Digital Media. I am one of fifteen students accepted to the pre-illustration program at the university (public, not art school) I intend to go to.

links
Mah deviantART - ConceptART Sketchbook Thread - Art Shop
I included my art shop link because it has some art that I haven't posted elsewhere, and some of the posts there are WIPs.

timezone and being online
I'm on MST and am usually online after 2:30, but not every day, because I've got homework, art projects, etc.... But at least three times a week. I will be gone (as in, offline, on vacation) May 31st through June 19th this year.

what I'm best at (teaching)
¤ anatomy, posing, referencing from photographs, and the related tricks
¤ proportions, some design
¤ drawing from life (still life, life-drawing)
¤ preliminary stuff: thumbs, planning a piece
¤ Photoshop, the GIMP, Adobe Illustrator
¤ watercolor
¤ charcoal rendering
¤ inking with pen and ink
¤ inking digitally with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator
¤ character design