Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
The Ethics of ESP: Mind-Reading Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Autumnal Light

3,250 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Cart Raider 100
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:24 pm
The thing I would hate more than almost anything else in the world would be for someone to read my mind without my permission. There are some things that go on in my head that aren't always within my control and which I'd rather nobody had a front-row seat to.

I'll say outright that I have no personal experience with telepathy or the like. I've noticed people online claiming they have this ability or trying to get other people to teach them how to control and/or acquire it. But every time I see someone like this, I wonder if they ever stop to consider other peoples' right to privacy. A person's last refuge is their mind, after all.

Under what circumstances is mind-reading permissible? Are there different standards for this and things like aura-reading or detecting peoples' emotions?

In my own case, I wouldn't mind so much if people were simply trying to read my mood or health without my knowledge. A person skilled at reading body language could do that anyway. But when the person crosses the line over into trying to identify specific thoughts, things start to get sketchy for me.

What are your boundaries? What are (or would) you be comfortable doing to others or having done to yourself?

((For the purpose of this post, I'm assuming that there are people actually capable of mind-reading. Having never encountered the phenomenon myself, I'm not the best judge.))  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:58 pm