Predestination Goto Page: 1 2 3 ... 4 5 6 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Samsoonie

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:28 am
I have always had an issue with this.
Are we Christians predestined to be Christians?
or
Did we become Christians out of free will?
My brother says that we were predestined (brother has always thought very logically) but he said that he couldn't believe that God doesn't have control over all things.
While that makes sense to a degree.. my issue is that I can't believe that God would love me but not the person sitting next to me. (maybe it's because i'm an artist, my brother and I have always thought differently)

hmm.. well here's an illustration
What do you think happened when Jesus died on the cross?
Did it open a door for all of us?
or
Did it open a door for a select few (the christians) then locked that door

I know its a tough topic so just don't say things off the top of your head and be respectful to me and the others in here! biggrin you know the rules

aaand

User Image  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:02 pm
"God is the author of a create-your-own-story novel!"

That is what my friends and I decided this summer. That is, we have the free will to make the choices to believe or sin or whatever and God knows the outcome of all our desicions, even the ones we don't make. You just have to choose.

There will always be logical snags in both arguments of predestination and free will. I just trust that God knows what he's doing and the things he's doing are a little too big for me to understand.

freelance lover
Crew

Ixor Firebadger

Tenacious Wife

32,075 Points
  • Budding Witch 250
  • Nudist Colony 200
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:57 pm
That is an awesome analogy rofl

I likey. I'll have to remember it.