Interstellar Prophet

8,390 Points
  • Springtime Scavenging 25
  • Interstellar Fixer 25
  • Expert Skill 150
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:32 pm
Hey all,

I'm back; I finally got a new computer.

I wanted to ask you all about your experiences of learning your ethnic language in high school or college. I am English-, Chinese-, and Malaysian-American. This semester, I started learning Chinese at my college. I am in intro Chinese, and I didn't know any Chinese before signing up for the class.

I was abused as a child by my parents, and in my family, Chinese was used as a language of punishment. It was used to keep secrets and to cuss at me. It was actually to their benefit that I don't know Chinese so that they can protect their secrets. I didn't want to learn Chinese back then because it was connected with pain and hurt.

It hurt even more when many of the Asian Americans at my school would assume that I didn't have any Asian Pride because they didn't understand why I was afraid of Chinese.

Now that I am learning Chinese in a much more supportive environment - my class - I developed a greater appreciation for Chinese language and culture. Class is very exciting, and I am much more comfortable with people speaking Chinese. I would use Chinese to my Chinese professor and TA outside of class.

I was wondering if you all had any reflections, comments, personal stories, tips, etc. that you would like to share about learning your ethnic language.

Take care,
Evinyatar  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:26 pm
the college where i go
University of Texas at San Antonio [UTSA]

the languages they offer are:

tagalog
japanese
french
cantonese
chinese
german
spanish

dunno i am half filipino with some chinese and hispanic/irish only bc of my last name how i hate it but yea i am in elementary japanese domokun  

Kuroi Kohhi

[~Dark Chocolate~]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:40 pm
oh! That's awful crying ! I wish you luck in learning surprised !