Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
b y a k k o y a [ [ updated w/ pics] ]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

byakkoya

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:28 pm
Hello. I'm Byakkoya (but I also go by Reiko or hoshi-chan). I'm 20 and I live in Georgia. I'm new here to Gaia, but I've been exploring and I found this place. I've been self-taught for most of my life, but I am currently taking online classes at Art Institute Online and pursuing an AS in Graphic Design (though I'd like to do something where I actually draw, because it's what I love most.)

Things I'd like help with

1.Anatomy in general
2.Head
3.Hands
4.Hair
5.Feet (bare)
6.CG Inking/Lineart

Although my style of drawing people is rooted in anime, I'd like to get away from that and do like a quasi-anime style, where it's mostly realistic and not so much anime. Painting and coloring in general via computer isn't too hard, but I still need practice. My main concern is inking. I'm in love with the watercolor/oil paint style of coloring, so unless I do something cartoony, I'd like to stay away from lines that are too solid and dark. I mainly use Photoshop, but I'm trying to get the hang of Open Canvas.

Thank you in advance to anyone who is nice enough to give me some pointers.

DA: http://byakkoya.deviantart.com/

Here are several of my very best drawings, from oldest to latest.

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image

User Image  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:17 pm
It would help if you posted an image in the thread. Like any sketchbook, put sketches in it. (Also, mentors don't come to you. You go to them.)  

Errol McGillivray
Captain

byakkoya

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:08 pm