Reply The Music Artists Guild
scales

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Kaio-Leucitius

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 10:34 pm
What are some good scales to learn, and whats the best way to learn them? I'm self taught on guitar and bass so I'm kind of limited, I can read music to a certain extent (still working on it) and I'm trying not to become to dependant on tablature. I wanna try out different sounds when making music.

So far I have learned the natural scale(?) and most of the harmonic minor scale. What kind of scales do they use in latin rock (like juanes, or the mars volta ont he song L' Via L' Viaquez) what scale(s) does carlos santana use?

I don't really know much right now so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, and sorry if i made and mistakes typing tihs lol.  
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:26 pm
Hey dude, we share the same question, I want to learn the sames scales.  

JIJITSU SUKAMARU

kyogoku-san

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:36 pm
The best way to learn scales .... it depends on the instrument but the best ways would have to be to have it written out infront of you (like a beginers book with a diagram or sumthin) and then notw by note, listen with your ear & pratice & before you know it, you'll have it down. Then learn the names, the names of the scales are obber-important. Make flashcards!

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 12:52 pm
well, i play bass and electric guitar so what would you suggest for stringed instruments? i can read music but i'm still trying to memorize the locations of the noteson the fretboard.  

Kaio-Leucitius

ilejak1

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 1:27 pm
Me and my friends do this:

We put the scales in front of us, and if the first note is called mi ( example ), then we sing the mi ( just say mi ) at the same time we play the note. Then you go one as the same. But make it like a song!!  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:11 am