Welcome to Gaia! ::

Friends of English Magic - for readers and fans of fantasy

Back to Guilds

A guild for fans of fantasy books - we have discussions, contests, and games! 

Tags: english, fantasy, magic, book, scifi 

Reply dead threads - do not post
Le Vol (my first thing ever posted on Gaia...)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Is "Le Vol" okay?
  It's decent.
  It sucks.
  Great!
View Results

Lhia Dunwaith

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:57 pm
1. Please be honest, but polite. I've never done this before. If this gets a good response I might post something else later.

2. Thanks to Mr. Norrel and the rest of the crew for changing this subforum from FAN fiction to ALL fiction. biggrin

3. If you really hate it, please send me a PM.

4. I wrote this for a school contest; it got first place. Just wanted to mention...  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:00 pm
Le Vol
By Lhia_Dunwaith

(Note: “le vol” is “the flight” in French)

Flight. Lucien had never appreciated the word before. Not really. But now, he was free.
Fastening the tight aviation goggles onto his face, Lucien knew his destination. Home. Without another thought, he jumped up, rising hundreds of feet per second, watching the ground below him. With a burst of speed, he broke the sound barrier, the noise of it not fazing him at all. The speed of sound? No. That was too slow. Much too slow. Home was too far away for that, and he wanted to reach it before first period…
“Good MORning class!!!” screamed the substitute overenthusiastically.
Lucien jerked awake. His new classes started way too early. He needed to not fall asleep tomorrow morning. What did he dream about, again? He remembered clouds and foggy glasses, but-
“Today is an EXTRA special day!!! Today, you have a new class member!!! That is SOOOO exciting!!! Class, meet Lucien!!! I’m sure you’ll be GREEAAAT friends!!!”