Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
Druid Orders

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Leahandra

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 8:20 pm
I have been looking into several druid orders, like the American Order of Ancient Druids, and have been debating wether or not to join. I have been studying Druidry for several years, but it might be nice to have some "formal" education, or mentorship. The problem I've encountered is the widely varying belief systems and education programs.

So, have any of you heard, or participated in any programs which were good or bad? Think that I should take the risk and send in my money and application? What's the worst that could happen, right? I waste some money or perhaps I gain the enlightenment I've been searching for.  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:37 am
There are no Druids anymore.

At best these groups are misappropriating a title in order to garner more recognition for their practice- recognition that is unearned. At worst- they are delusional and guilty of celtsploitation.

My advice is to skip claiming a title you have no right to.  

TeaDidikai

CuAnnan

Dapper Genius

5,875 Points
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Autobiographer 200
  • Dressed Up 200
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:50 am
Leahandra
I have been looking into several druid orders, like the American Order of Ancient Druids, and have been debating wether or not to join. I have been studying Druidry for several years, but it might be nice to have some "formal" education, or mentorship. The problem I've encountered is the widely varying belief systems and education programs.