Needing advice for walk-in RP

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

fawn freckles

Anxious Bookworm

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:01 pm
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

Even though I don't have too much free time to roleplay, I've been wanting to and have been working on a casual slice-of-life roleplay where others like me can participate without having to be available for roleplay 5 days a week.
The thing is that I am not experienced with forum-based roleplay. My only experience has been playing D&D with a group of friends back in 2002.
We would roleplay in person once a week.

The setting of the RP is a neighborhood with its coffee shop & patisserie as the main focus. It's an alternate reality (present day) with some, but few, magical elements (inspired by Studios Ghibli), and is located in, ahem, Japan.
I've created a set of NPCs (including a Gaia Online character) that can be used for interaction as long as you play them true to their personalities.
I've also created roles/positions to choose from but since this is a walk-in RP I prefer to have customers.

Does anyone here have any advice on how to successfully create and maintain the kind of roleplay I intend?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:05 pm
If you're going to have 'permanent positions' I suggest that you get friends who can be on more often for those more active roles, so that you don't have to do all the work. Most walk-ins use one's Gaian, but some people prefer using RPCs, especially if they're they type to constantly change avatars. The NSTG has a good one if you're interested, and it's a bar. There might be one or two in the CB as well
Not the guild's, the real deal
And really, it'd most likely be best to use the neighborhood as a setting, and focus entirely on the bar/cafe
Since you said that you can't be too active, be the manager, so that you don't have to be active, just supervising