Music University

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

x.Marsh[mel]low.x
Captain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:28 pm
Well, one of the main reasons I'm not really on Gaia anymore is because I'm currently attending a prestigious University, taking music as my major... though I thought I'd come on now and talk about it a bit.

Firstly, it's a lot of work. You have to really love what you do to keep at it. I'm at the school for 13 hours out of the day, just for class and practicing. I spend more time in a teeny closet-sized practice room than I do in my own bedroom nowadays, and that is no exaggeration.

But if you're willing to work that hard for what you love, then you learn to enjoy even the biggest challenges.

I'm majoring in drum set and percussion right now, and the classes couldn't be better.

About 90 drummers auditioned last year to get into this program, and only 16 were picked to go through. This means that our level of performance is not only expected to be high, but also workable. The entrance exam consisted of playing a snare solo (grade four RCM), various styles on the drum kit (Bossa nova, rock, 16th rock, swing, jazz waltz, shuffle, 12/8 blues, and a couple of Latin beats), matching pitch with voice, sight reading music, a thorough theory test on all scales, keys, melodic and harmonic minors, etc, and chords, and an ear training test to distinguish between different qualities of chords (major, minor, and dominant), degrees of a major scale, and the difference between intervals (maj2 vs min2, p5 vs octave, etc). It took up most of the day and at the end of it I wasn't sure I ever wanted to drum again! Haha.

However, once school started it all came back. I wanted nothing more than to learn more about music.