Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian British Guild

Back to Guilds

A haven for British Gaians, and those sympathetic to their peculiar ways! 

Tags: britain, british, United Kingdom, english, england 

Reply Gaian British Guild
One American's thoughts on British Actors

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Gjornia X

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:20 pm
Disclaimer: My views are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of other Americans.

Hi, all. I'm fairly new to the GBG. Last night I saw "Life on Mars"--the British version. It's been a while since I saw the American version, which if I remember accurately premiered late in 2008. It wasn't well received and was canceled before the first season could finish. I only saw the first episode of the original, and I must say I liked it--much, much more than the American version. In general, I have an affinity for British actors because they seem more real and believable.

That isn't to say that I haven't been moved to tears by some American TV characters. My only issue is that American media puts too much pressure on looks. Many a good actor and singer have been turned down because they aren't statuesque, or else pressured to undergo extreme changes to fit a mold. You and I know that your average 40 year old male has a pot belly, and women of all ages have meat on their bones (and they should!). Some people have yellowish teeth (more in America than America wants you to know) and teens have acne. Our TV tries to hard to cover up these flaws in our shows and make us feel bad about our own self-image by showing us celebrities with unnaturally white teeth, long thick hair, flat abs, and flawless skin followed by ads for gym memberships, Crest whitening strips, and ProActiv.