Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
~ Fiammetta's Thread~

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

LavenderMintRose

Cheery Sweetheart

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:53 am
I had a thread here before, but it got lost way back since I haven't been here in a while. I also changed my username since then, so I decided I should probably just start over.

I'm a college freshman, I've been drawing since middle school, but I haven't improved much because starting from when I started high school continuing until now, I've had way to much schoolwork, and no time to draw anything. I'm going to try to get into the art program at my college...

So here's some WIPs that I started a while ago (like a couple months ago) and might finish sometime... hopefully over this break.

User Image

This one is based on two different reference pictures, this and this (flipped). The character will be holding a rose. Not quite sure what she'll be wearing yet.

User Image

No reference for the pose (I know I should get one since I know nothing about anatomy). The border is from some clip-art book I have, I don't remember the name of it.

User Image

New Version! Reference: this. My character again.

Okay, so... crit please, + thanks.  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 6:32 am
I think you're generally on the right track with things, but I think you would benefit from...*drum roll* more gesture drawing! That and more life drawing. Using reference photos is well and great, but you're essentially using a 2D object to draw another 2D object, where really you should be taking a 3D one and turning it into 2D. There's just a lot more information for your eye to work from when drawing from life vs an image.