Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
Some art! Needs critques please! Nigh

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

FrozenVendetta

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:15 pm

Some stuff I've drawn in the past year...

I have had art in sixth, and eigth to now. This is my first year in advanced art, and I've been kinda dabbling in different styles, I really like manga if you couldn't tell after looking at these.

Any crits are appreciated!

XXX

And a sketch I drew off of a picture.
X

The scanner as usual, screwed up the shading, there's alot more to it than what you can see.

Edit:: In the first two, I used Jasc Paint Shop Pro (I don't remember what version) with a mouse...
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:52 pm

I'm going to give you a critique since I am bored. Drawing, I utterly fail at so don't ask me about that. I'm also new to this guild so you should wait for someone else's critique before you drastically change your style. ^_^

First- it will be helpful to know what program you used to color these... at least for other people.

Give shading a try. The best time to suck is when you first start out you know. Any piece of art can take the next step with the effective use of dark and light. I am guessing that on XXX white part is the shiny reflection thing. The hair needs shading too. Other than the basic "practice your anatomy" learning to shade the anatomy is also helpful. This SSS is one of my first paintings. I made the light direction extremely obvious (well i think @.@). Try that for starters.

BAD ADVICE WARNING----{