Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
TomboyishFF's Sketchbook

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

TomboyishFF

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:46 pm

So, I need help like whoa, because after many years of trying to self-teach myself, it hasn't really gotten me far. At all. I'm currently a senior in high school planning on going into 3D animation, and I'm in Art 2. I've always been interested in anatomy, and I think the only reason I'm as good as I am now is because I studied it so much. /:

I seriously still lack in everything (color, anatomy, shading, perspective, paneling), but I really feel like I'm missing some key beginner skill many artists have already learned. After browsing many an art thread, I figure my art just looks horribly 'flat'. It won't 'pop' off the page. This is my main deal, and any sort of drills/comments/etc that can help me will be most welcomed. Is it just learning perspective, or what?

Too many things to list that I need help with. Everything and anything. I'll post sketches (mostly sketches, now - AP exams are going to kill me) in here, but I'm also gonna post some old stuff. 'Old' as in it was done a while ago, but I still haven't improved.

For the know, I'm incredibly interested in 'western style' comics. Please deter me from any anime/manga tendencies I might have learned from my days as a nerd. ):

Art Galleries: DevArt
Sketchblog

Recent Piece To Get Started:

User Image
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:57 pm