Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Art Mentors

Back to Guilds

Where artists are paired in a mentor/mentee fashion to share their knowledge. 

Tags: artists, mentor, mentee, learning, drawing 

Reply Sketchbooks [Get crits here! Open to everyone]
Kalevel's Sketchbook

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

The One and Only Kal

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:35 pm
intro
Hmm.. well, not sure what to say. I could repeat what's in my mentor thread, but I'd rather not. I'm probably going to post WIPs here. I'm happy to receive critique, but most errors (especially in regards to anatomy) are glaringly obvious to me. What is usually not obvious to me are composition-related or color errors, so if you can help me in that regard, thanks in advance! Heh.

I'm a very beginning painter (and digital painter). I can't paint a proper background to save my life at the moment.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:36 pm
the cloud lagoon
User Image

Still need to work on the shark and the gentleman's arm. My animal anatomy isn't too sharp. This is for a painting project. I'll be tweaking it here and there until Wednesday or Friday.  

The One and Only Kal

tirbutt
Crew

Sparkling Sentai

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:45 am

Hey Kalevel! Glad to see you posting art here already biggrin !

I'm really enjoying the picture - there's a lot going on and I can't wait to see how you'll be rendering it during the paining process. (is it going to be digital? traditional?)

Are the shark(s) floating in air? Otherwise the positioning is weird - the shark anatomy IS off, but you can just look up some shark photos on google or something and get that fixed relatively easily.

Composition: