Reply Writing Discussion
Self-Publishing or Agent?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

JolieEtoile

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Um... Hi, I 'm new to the guild and before I do anything else, I have a question.

I really want to publish and at the moment I am working on a book (rewriting it is more like it...) and I'm not sure how I want to go through with this. Does anyone know which is better: self-publishing or getting an agent?

I'd really appreciate it if everyone can help me decide. Thanks a bunch!

@;~ Saph  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:55 pm
I really don't know what to say to you because I'm not an expert. I've only published poetry before, not novels.

I wouldn't suggest going through with self publishing from what I know, that would be more for you just to have a printed and bound copy of your work. If you were to go the traditional publishing route, you could just send in your polished copy to a few respectable publishing houses and see what they think. I'm not quite sure how to acquire an agent, but I'm sure you could find information on that online.  

Stelle Cadenti
Captain

Prophet

JolieEtoile

PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:49 am
Thank you. ^-^ Sorry I haven't posted, I was very sick last week.
Yeah, I've looked up all the information I might need for looking for agents, but I wanted to get someone else's opinion. Self-publishing looks just as great as going through an agent...  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:43 pm