Reply Asian Pride -- Asian Hangout for Asian People
Does anyone practice Capoeira?!

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

sean701

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:59 am
I am a beginner practitioner of capoeira, I've been doing it since april now .Has anyone ever herd of it or practice it? There's a capoeira Spot in Washington DC for those that are interested in it.

here's a capoeira video.

Capoeira Demonstration

Here's a small summary of capoeira from the website Capoeira DC

African slaves in Brazil perfected Capoeira (Pronounced 'kah-poe-air-ah') 400 hundred years ago as a way to resist the oppression of the Portuguese. Music and dancing were incorporated to provide concealment, allowing the slaves to play unhindered. Capoeira has played an important part in shaping the culture of Brazil.

Modern day Capoeira is an up-tempo, fast-paced, fluid game known as Contemporânea, (A Portuguese term meaning "Contemporary"), which is what we play here at Capoeira Malês. Our contemporary roots trace back to a rough and tumble version of capoeira called Old School, also known as "Regional" (Pronounced 'heh-shon-al'). Capoeira Regional was practiced for many years in the neighborhoods of Brazil's towns and cities.

Today, Capoeira is practiced on every continent and continues to gain recognition as a means of liberation from the barriers people impose on themselves. Capoeira combines the raw excitement of music, dancing, fighting, and gravity defying acrobatics. The term given to people who practice the art of Capoeira is 'Capoeirista'.

The game of Caporeira is played inside a Roda (meaning 'circle', pronounced "hoe-da") comprised of of several capoeiristas. Some rodas can be very large, consisting of up to 40 or 50 participants. The tempo in the roda is set using a unique musical combination of drums, tambourines, singing, and most importantly, a one-stringed instrument called a berimbau.