Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
Hiya! I'm new to the guild but... Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 4 5

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ulfrikr inn Hrafn

Friendly Gaian

4,900 Points
  • Forum Regular 100
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Citizen 200
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:31 am
TeaDidikai

Ulfrikr inn Hrafn

It's my understanding from information I've read to date, that Elohim is in fact always plural.

Etymologically, you'd be correct. Grammatically, not so much.

Hebrew grammar places it in a singular form.

It would have been more accurate to say "deity" or "divinity" over god.

Okay, done some more digging smile The Wikipedia entry is actually not half bad... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elohim Links to other sources and info are useful too.

TeaDidikai

Ulfrikr inn Hrafn

Or do we have variant forms of the term?

It would appear to be endless!

When I have time (and can find my notebook) I'll type up a handful of the different meanings and applications of El.

TeaDidikai

Ulfrikr inn Hrafn

The word God is in fact Germanic, and is indeed originally designating the divinity of the ancestral deities of the Germanic peoples. Hence it would make sense that when the Germanic Folk were converted, that the term God would simply (as with many terms and symbology) be modified to what the Christians wanted it to mean.

However- if there was an accurate cultural parallel, god, like Elohim would not be edited in such a way.

Dropping of letters to protect the name is not applied universally to titles.