Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
Newbie here, needing help *sigh*

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

LivingIsSuicide

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:44 am
I'm very interested in paganism, yet know practically nothing about it. What would be the ideal branch for me to study as a newbie? And could someone please help me with it?

If it helps, I've always been intrigued with the Celtic fairy culture. Is there a branch that pertains to that?

Help please?

heart xd domokun

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:06 am
Before I speak, a disclaimer: I am blunt because I refuse to lose meaning to confusing semantics. I may come across as harsh or even condescending if you read a tone into my words; I ask that you please not, and understand that I often speak as if I were writing a manual for understanding my viewpoint. Now that that's out of the way, I continue.

The first thing I recommend you prune away is the concept of "branches of Paganism". "Paganism" is not a unified religion; it is the over-arching word used to describe a large class of religions. By definition, worshipping deities other than the Abrahamic God (YHVH, God of the Jews, etc.) is a necessary condition for a religion to be labeled "Pagan". It's up for debate at times whether or not that is a sufficient condition, but that's really neither here nor there. For the sake of reducing argument, I'm going to go with the definition that assumes that it's sufficient. In other words, that means that Hindu, Shinto, Zen Buddhism, Taoism, Shamanism, and Native American religions are all Pagan.