Welcome to Gaia! ::

Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center

Back to Guilds

Educational, Respectful and Responsible Paganism. Don't worry, we'll teach you how. 

Tags: Pagan, Wicca, Paganism, Witchcraft, Witch 

Reply Pagan Fluffy Rehabilitation Center
What drives people towards magic? Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Kalyani Srijoi

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:28 pm
Pretty self-explanatory question. What is it about magic practices such as witchcraft that appeals to people? If you use magic, why did you decide to do so? What is it that made you start believing that it worked? And once you did start to believe, what about it made you decide to start practicing?

There's something about that shift from not using magic to using it that always sort of confuses me. What motivates you magic-types?  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:39 pm
I'm just beginning to "re-discover" magic and witchcraft. What is driving me is a bit of personal self-interest. I want to see what I can learn and do. I want to see what my own will can influence. Or, if I work with the gods, I can learn my limits, and see what we can accomplish together. I am certainly not on the same level, nor anywhere close, as them, but I can influence myself.  

maenad nuri
Captain

Kalyani Srijoi

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:19 pm
Nuri
I'm just beginning to "re-discover" magic and witchcraft. What is driving me is a bit of personal self-interest. I want to see what I can learn and do. I want to see what my own will can influence. Or, if I work with the gods, I can learn my limits, and see what we can accomplish together. I am certainly not on the same level, nor anywhere close, as them, but I can influence myself.

I guess what always confused me is that it just seems like such a strange way to do things. I mean, what is it that made you decide, "Screw conventional methods, I'm going to do something with magic!"