Asian Pride -- Asian Hangout for Asian People

Back to Guilds

Reply Asian Pride -- Asian Hangout for Asian People
Foreign Exchange Student Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Foreign Exchanges: which one applies to you?
  I will be going on an exchange/am on an exchange/was on an exchange
  I thought about doing it, but never went ahead with it
  The idea never crossed my mind before
  I'd never want to go on an exchange
View Results

Ceyon

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:09 pm
I seem to be the only one floating around here who is into the whole idea of foreign exchanges. Anybody else out there I've missed who shares this dream/interest?

I'm 15 years old, and I'm a sophomore in high school in the United States. I've told my parents that I want to do an exchange, and they said that unless I take a "gap year", which is deferring college for one year after graduating to participate in an exchange, they won't let me go. I've agreed to this because if I don't make this compromise, then I won't be allowed to go at all (and they won't pay the ~$6,000 for the trip, heh heh).

I want to go to Japan. If, God forbid, I can't go there, I'm planning on going somewhere in Asia. I will have to wait through my entire junior year before I can apply, though, because applying two years before the departure date is a bit... much.

So, tell me what you think of that, and tell me about your little stories if you have any.
wink  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:20 pm

I think being an exchange student would be cool, but I'd be so lonely, scared, and shy. Plus, it'd take me years to learn how to speak the language, so I'd probably fail all my classes.
    D:

sheeohpaow

flip.renegade

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:00 pm