Welcome to Gaia! ::

+ The Official 'Got Goth?' Guild +

Back to Guilds

Tags: goth, subculture, alternative 

Reply Extended Discussion
Religious Intolerence- Educational ban on knowledge? Goto Page: 1 2 3 4 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Demoness_tsunami

High-functioning Gawker

5,700 Points
  • Egg Collector 100
  • Conversationalist 100
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:33 pm
I am a grade 12 student who goes to a school in Nova Scotia, Canada. I am currently in a Comparitive religions class and we are working on independant projects about religion. We were given a list of religious that we will not be discussing in the class that we can write a paper, or do a presentation on. I am Wiccan, and since the course is about learning, I wasn't planning on doing the project on Wicca, but as I was sifting through websites thinking I may do my project on ancient goddess cults or baltic paganism, I started to notice a tendancy. Many of the sites I was trying to access were banned. This led me to wonder, how much of this is banned for a reason and how much of it is rediculously uncalled for. So I began to type in some of the URLs for credible resources that I have used on a day to day basis that are informative and fairly tame educational sites about paganism, wicca and "Old Way" religions, finding that more than half of these sites were banned by the school, The message flashed up site after site.

ACCESS DENIED:OCCULT

Finally in an act of desperation I said to my self " They can't have banned Wikipedia" And as I typed the word into the search bar on wiki and hit enter the last of my hope died. Access Denied, OCCULT. I could search for Neo-Nazi-ism, Facism, Satanism.....but not Wicca, one of the more peaceful religions out there.