Welcome to Gaia! ::

Band Nerd Guild

Back to Guilds

The coolest most awesome most BAND NERDIEST place EVER! 

Tags: band, nerd, music 

Reply Band Nerd Guild
Anyone taught him/herself an instrument? Goto Page: 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Writer Selbe

Invisible Conversationalist

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:10 pm
I want to teach myself piano and guitar, but I just don't know how. So, I was wondering if you guys could share your stories about how you learned.  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:35 pm
I remember in first grade my Mom got me my first instrument, a recorder xD That's how I started, I'm no pro at it (I kinda lost it and have no sheet music xD) I can play a few songs. I'm trying to learn piano but i only can practice at my Grandmas... I suggest getting a few starter books (Essential elements, and others in that section) and a fingering chart  

AquaticOwls

Friendly Humorist

squirrelly_girl_XD

7,500 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Friendly 100
  • First step to fame 200
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:52 pm
Basics books, finger charts and determination. I am self taught on a variety of wind instruments and this has always been the easiest way for me to go about it. Don't skip over the simple Mary Had a Little Lamb stuff, either.

Good luck!  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:58 pm
I'm sorta self-taught on piano. I can't actually play it all that well, but I know where the notes are and I can kinda sightread in treble clef(but that's cause, guess what, my first instrument is a treble clef instrument). So the things I DO know about piano are self-taught.

I'd say that it helps to apply things you know from other instruments to learning new instruments.  

starbolt22

xiAmBlack_Heartx

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:38 pm