Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Would you like some gold for reading?
  Yes please :)
  Is it free?
View Results

Shadowed Intent

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:13 am
You may have seen this thread in the generaly forum but I decided to post it here as well

I just bought my trenchcoat (actually a frock-coat) today, and was called a diiiiiiick in a very loud voice by a bunch of yobs, in a car which reflected their minds and their social status, the thing that confuses me is, that I have been walking up and down this particular street for 5 years, when I did and didn't dress in a gothic style, and I pose to you this question, what is it about trenchcoats that makes people behave so strangely?  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:19 am
i get the same thing in a torn up and patched green hoodie

i think anything too close to columbine or too punk is engraved in to the common Psyche of mainstream society and especially the wealthy as the enemy. but isn't that what we wanted?  

AEtherclaw

Shadowed Intent

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:55 pm
I never personally wanted anyone to hate me...
but I suppose that may have been part of Punks goal...  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:49 pm
The trench coat has been a symbol ingrained in pop culture's mind for many years, and in many cases, it's viewed negatively. Not always, but many people do associate the item with a number of different things-

High Officers of the Nazi party wore trench coats. School shooter teenagers often have worn trench coats, because they conceal weapons well. Flashers wear trench coats because they easily cover and uncover. Drug dealers and con-artists wear trench coats so they can hide their illegal wares from certain passers-by. The extremely wealthy wear trench coats to keep their well-kept selves from the dust and trash of travel.